Back to Collections

Published 21 Apr 2015

POUR - WCAG 2.0 principles

By WAI at W3C

These are the 4 guiding principles for creating accessible web content as suggested by WCAG 2.0.

WCAG 2.0 are part of a series of web accessibility guidelines published by the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) of the W3C. They consist of a set of guidelines for making content accessible, primarily for people with disabilities, but also for all user agents, including highly limited devices, such as mobile phones.

Source: Introduction to Understanding WCAG 2.0

  1. Perceivable

    Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive. This means that users must be able to perceive the information being presented (it can't be invisible to all of their senses)

  2. Operable

    User interface components and navigation must be operable. This means that users must be able to operate the interface (the interface cannot require interaction that a user cannot perform).

  3. Understandable

    Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable. This means that users must be able to understand the information as well as the operation of the user interface (the content or operation cannot be beyond their understanding)

  4. Robust

    Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies. This means that users must be able to access the content as technologies advance (as technologies and user agents evolve, the content should remain accessible)

Get notified when new design principles are added!

This newsletter is sent once a month and contains all the new Design Principles that have been added.